LWR: Medical memoirs and Italian political horror, Let Me Tell You….

Testing out the waters with ways to add more content to the blog. Working full time with a disability plus all the professional reading that I do for the bookstore leaves me with little time to do as many full reviews here on my personal blog as I would like. So, here are some short blurbs about what I’ve just finished reading, as well as a week-themed rating: if Monday is the day we most despise, and Saturday is the day we most look forward to, then this scale represents my rating system:

Monday = “I threw the book across the room (from the free throw line, into the trashcan).”
Tuesday = “I threw the book across the room (then picked it up and reluctantly finished it because I need to know what to complain about most).”
Wednesday = “I (sort of) tossed the book (half-way) across the room (into a bucket of lukewarm water).”
Thursday = “I threw the book across the room (so that I could crawl back to it).”
Friday = “I threw the book across the room (because I saw someone who needed it in their face at that very moment)”
Saturday = “The book threw itself across the room (because I don’t deserve its explosive brilliance).”

I have a lot athletic-like emotions about books, okay?

Non-Fiction

9781101981443_59740The Tincture of Time: A Memoir of (Medical) Uncertainty by Elizabeth L. Silver

Medicine is like faith, “a collection of interpretations […] rife with conflict.” Doctors interpret data and apply those interpretations to wholly unique circumstances. In this way, medical science is an applied science of a sort. Silver, with precision of language and fullness of thought, chronicles the years she spent inhabiting the uncertain spaces between treatment and trust in this open memoir that tears a heart in two, then mends it to the beating hearts of humanity.

Publication date: April 25, 2017
Publishing House: Penguin Press
Rating: Thursday, for lovers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal, Siddhartha Mukherjee’s The Emperor of All Maladies, and other humanizing medical tales.

Fiction

T9781631492297_a9341he Twenty Days of Turin by Giorgio de Maria
Translated by Roman Glazov

This dark satire aptly invokes the chaos of post-fascist Italy: inexplicable violence from an inconceivable apotheon bulldozes the bodies of citizens; a “Library” which “helped furnish the illusion of a relationship with the outside world: a dismal cop-out nourished and centralized by a scornful power bent only on keeping people in their state of isolation.”; secret individual activity breeds anxiety breeds a shared psychotic insomnia.

Publication Date: February 2017 (out now!)
Publishing House: Liveright
Rating: Saturday, for lovers of psychological political horror à la Roberto Arlt’s The Seven Madmen with a touch of magical realism à la Jorge Luis Borges.

Short Fiction and Nonfiction

9780812987324_1898bLet Me Tell You: New Stories, Essays, and Other Writings by Shirley Jackson
edited by Laurence Hyman, Sara Hyman DeWitt, and Ruth Franklin

I love Shirley Jackson. Consistent with shared American school experience, my first introduction to Jackson was “The Lottery” on my school reading list. Unfortunately, I might have been in a “white British writer canon” phase (ugh. I’ve given myself all the requisite lectures, trust me.) which led me to push Jackson off the radar. Years later, I married a film snob obsessed with The Haunting, which led me back to Jackson. (He hosts a book/film club, and I always push hard for a discussion of The Haunting of Hill House and viewing of the film.) This collection of 50 plus previously unpublished pieces–some of which are unfinished–showcase the drastically different modes of writing from her tall tales of small-town psychology to comic family tableau to line drawings that deliver to the reader a searing view into Jackson’s vulnerability as a writer, mother, and wife. Jackson weaves a spell from your nightstand. Just as she intended.

Publication Date: 2016
Publishing House: Random House
Rating: Friday – to be read slowly, over several months, while taking up space on your nightstand.

Bonus Content!

Last week I also finally caught up on The Adventure Zone podcast. I recently restarted playing D&D again–this time with a nearly all-female bookseller crew (somehow Joe always ends up being the token guy) and the World’s Okayest DM™. It’s really important to care deeply about the people you play with and that might have been why I walked away from fantasy role playing 10 years ago (there’s always that one guy…). I love my fellow players so much because we’re all slinging books together by day (and slingin’ Vicious Words by night).

TAZ was recommended to me by my in-character BFF (and OOC work wife). From a player’s perspective, I’d actually murder all of the McElBoys if I had to play a game with them. Fortunately, from the administrative perspective, all of the participants are on the same page–they all have the same goal: to make a damn fun fantasy podcast. Their personalities (for the most part) work well together to progress a story and even create convincing conflict as players and characters. Even if you’re not into D&D, this is just a great comedy podcast with very funny voices…when they remember to use them.

tumblr_static_9msysolo90088k8ss8g8g4oco

If this post comes out mid-week, it’s because I got caught in a Google spiral of TAZ fanart.

That’s it! That’s my new series, I guess.

Happy reading, y’all.

~Jan