An Introduction

For my first blog post, I am going to write about what brings me to the archive profession—from the first, and every day I wake up. I have always been fascinated with “old stuff.” (What archivist isn’t?) My audiophile husband jokes that I am “harder” on music that was made after I was born. As due to my liberal arts background, I am particularly fond of literature, music, and film. As with most bibliophiles, libraries have always been a safe haven.

After I graduated, I moved to San Antonio, Texas where I worked as a graphic designer and fine stationer. I also got involved (at least peripherally) in the art of filmmaking. My husband’s frequent trips from San Antonio to Austin and surrounding parts of southern Texas for writing, editing, mixing, casting, and shooting were exhausting–but worth every bleary-eyed, sleep-deprived, moment for him. After returning from a 21-day location shoot, my husband related to me a conversation that he had with the director of the film about the differences between digital and 35mm film for audiences. I began to explore the archiving of 35mm, but soon came to realize that there are plenty archivists who have that covered. Since more film is being produced digitally, and more exhibitors are pushed to install exclusively digital equipment, I’ve recently shifted focus into the realm of digital preservation.

I was accepted to the Archives Management program at Simmons College in 2011 and am now more than midway through the program.

I have developed three research interests over the past year include…

  1. …curation of digitally-born film: procedures and best practices.
  2. …the motivations behind the curation of digitally-born film. It is no secret that the main driver to produce digital film is monetary. But I have, as yet, found no evidence of a monetary motivation to preserve these films. What steps are studios and independent filmmakers taking to implement data management plans (DMP) during production?
  3. …the gap in the ratio between industry growth for records management professionals and internships/practical field study available for students in this field. From my experience, unless a student lands an internship with NARA, there aren’t very many of these internships available in this field–where there is an apparent NEED for information professionals. As to whether these internships are marketed to students in other disciplines or that they don’t exist, I am uncertain. I was lucky enough to land an RM internship last semester. It was attached to an academic institution.

These are areas that interest me, and I will post about projects and jobs that I work on. But I also enjoy writing about being a student, reviewing books, and live tweeting events (the ones I can afford to go to on my grad school budget)! If you’re interested in reading that, check out my “other” blog Archiving Aloud.

I welcome your comments and questions!

